Is your brain on overload? You’re not alone!

bu005347A year ago I bought the book, “CrazyBusy” which was written by Edward M. Hallowell, an MD who for years treated young people who had ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder). He argues in his book that brain overload has reached the point where our entire society of suffering from culturally induced ADD and he points out that, because of BlackBerries, cell phones, and 24/7 e-mail, longer workdays, escalating demands, and higher expectations at home, we’re all now involved in a state of constant frenzy that is sapping us of creativity, humanity, mental well-being, and the ability to focus on what truly matters. I recommend this book and I want to draw your attention to this paragraph:

“Being too busy, which can seem necessary and unavoidable, can become a habit so entrenched that it leads you to postpone or cut short what really matters to you, making you a slave to a lifestyle you don’t like but can’t escape. You can be so busy,” Dr. Hallowell says, “that you don’t even take the time to decide what actually does matter most to you, let alone make the time to do it.”

I endorse the above paragraph 100%.

This is exactly what audiences and personal clients tell me about the challenges in their days. If you find this to be true for you, please look at Dr. Hallowell’s book and/or refer at the posts I’ve written in this blog. All of the previous posts – and those that follow – are intended to help you (and me) get more value for ourselves in these frantic, chaotic days.

3 Responses to “Is your brain on overload? You’re not alone!”

  1. Being in a constant state of frenzy seems to be part of our culture these days due in large part to our growing use and interdependence on technology. I believe nature expects us to “stop and smell the roses” periodically, and I think there’s plenty of evidence that finding some quiet time through meditation, yoga, etc can calm the frenzy. In fact, some businesses are even recognizing this and creating “quiet times” for managers and employees.

  2. I like what you say here about stopping to smell the roses. Whether it’s done officially or not, it’s important, in my opinion, to schedule quiet time for yourself. If you don’t schedule that quiet time, you won’t get it.

  3. Amy Christman Says:

    Quiet time for myself??? Wow!! With my “whirlwind” teenagers schedule, my busy work and personal schedule this seems at times impossible. But you are correct..if you don’t schedule it…it will NOT happen.
    At work, when I need to finish up a project or report, I listen to my IPOD (or my teenagers) so that I am able to focus on the task at hand. Not to mention it sends a message to all of my employees that I must not be interrupted.

Leave a Reply

